I am free (poetry)

I am free

This society tells us
that we have to fit into boxes.
You have to choose
between male and female.

But I don’t want to choose
any of these boxes
I don’t fit in,
I don’t WANT to fit in.

I am me
and I am free.

People look at me;
want to put me into a box
just how they were taught.
Don’t do that!

I am me
and I am free.

Neither male nor female;
My body has no gender.
No, I don’t want to
please your gender roles.

It is my body,
so it’s my rules.

I am me
and I am free.

21.04.2016 © LJ Meindl All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

